Alumni Spotlight: Josh Williamson

image1After graduating from SIUE in the fall of 2009 with my Bachelor of Music in Performance and Composition, I went to Butler University as the Graduate Assistant in Percussion. I graduated in 2012 from Butler with my Master of Music in Percussion Performance. There, I was deeply involved with the Butler Community Arts School which brought me to different public schools to teach all areas of percussion in Indianapolis.

In the summer of 2011, I helped my good friend Katie Ammann open the Music School of Roanoke Rapids in Roanoke Rapids, NC. I have returned multiple times as a guest clinician.

After that, I moved to Chicago in 2012 to work for Apple and to continue my music career. I currently teach percussion at Quinlan And Fabish Music in Arlington Heights. During the day, I work at Astellas Pharma, managing technology in their live training rooms and administering and producing Adobe Connect virtual sessions for their distance learning initiatives.

Now I am the Principal Percussionist with the FullScore Chamber Orchestra and Principal Percussionist with the Lake Forest Civic Orchestra. Recently, I have been a part of new music premiers with the FullScore Chamber Orchestra as well as the UIC Percussion Ensemble. I am currently working on commissioning a percussion concerto with composer Donny Walker to be premiered in February 2017 with the FullScore Chamber Orchestra.

In February, I got engaged to my girlfriend Jackie Gredell after 5+ years (we met at Butler). Jackie and I live in Wood Dale, IL with our miniature dachshund Appa (from Avatar The Last Airbender).

Leave a Reply

